THE HBCU POWER AWARDS TO HONOR JADAPINKETT SMITH DURING SPELMAN-MOREHOUSE-CLARK ATLANTA HOMECOMING, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 20 2017: Live performance by RCA recording artist H.E.R Co-hosted by Derek "Fonzworth Bentley" Watkins, Jessica White, and Deon Cole

October 10, 2017










(ATLANTA) - October 10, 2017 - The HBCU Power Awards has announced that actress, singer-songwriter, director and philanthropist Jada Pinkett Smith will receive the "Icon Award" at this evening of excellence on Friday, October 20, 7PM at Morehouse College (Martin Luther King Jr Chapel - 830 Westview Dr SW, Atlanta GA 30314).

Smith began her acting career as the feisty "Lena" from the 80s sitcom "A Different World," a show that brought HBCU life to tv screens across the country 30 years ago. Since then, Smith has curated a successful career in film and music while giving back to the community through the Will and Jada Smith Family Foundation. 


The HBCU Power Awards is also proud to announce that RCA recording artist H.E.R. has been added to the show. The mysterious singer-songwriter will perform songs from the much-buzzed-about EP, H.E.R., Vol 2.

Additionally, actor/choreographer Derek "Fonzworth Bentley" Watkins (Morehouse c/o '96) supermodel Jessica White and actor/comedian Deon Cole will co-host the show.

Co-founded by Watkins along with event producer Jash'd Kambui Belcher (Morehouse c/o '99) and Wall Street executive Roderick Hardamon (Morehouse c/o '98), the HBCU Power Awards honors the achievements and accomplishments of HBCU alumni and supporters who are making innovative and leading-­edge achievements in business, sports, philanthropy, media, music, technology, TV, film, politics, civil service and fashion.

"We created the HBCU Power Awards to serve as a platform to celebrate black excellence and to highlight the importance of HBCUs in our communities," says Belcher. "Our honorees embody the spirit of success and commitment to community that HBCUs have instilled in students for decades."

Adds Watkins: "In a time when the existence of our HBCUs is being threatened, the Power Awards is a shining reminder of the genius and innovation that black colleges generate every year."

Smith joins an impressive list of honorees, including: Coltrane Curtis (founder, Team Epiphany), Kyle Hagler (president, Next Management), Nzinga Shaw (Chief Diversity Officer, Atlanta Hawks), Keinon Johnson (VP, Urban Promotions, Interscope Records), Phylicia Fant (SVP, Publicity, Warner Bros Records), Beverly Anderson (EVP, Cards & Retail Services, Wells Fargo) and Rob Rumley (Chair, Atlanta Housing Authority).

Sponsors of the 2017 HBCU Power Awards include Morehouse College, the Atlanta Hawks, Radio One, Wells Fargo, Morgan Stanley, Experience Grands Rapids and the Lowman Group/ dba the Athletes Foot.

Ticket prices start at $20 and are available at 



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Sigma Imaging USA 2020 Lineup to Highlight fp Digital Camera, New Full-Frame Mirrorless Zoom Lenses

January 14, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload